Chapter & Verse

Day 4: Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more.

Overdue Library Books 2I love books. Life has gotten busy so I don’t nearly visit the library as often as I used to. This is a good thing for libraries and for other patrons. Yep, I’m that borrower–the one who keeps the book that you’ve been dying to read, that you’ve reserved, long after it’s due. It’s partly, no slightly, no barely due to forgetfulness. It’s more like I don’t want to really part with the books. I’d like to keep them in my collection.

As you can imagine, I’ve racked up some library fines. And a few times I’ve decided to return the book without owning up to it. Here’s how it’s done. You go to the library, to the shelf it should be sitting on and slide it back into the spot. Then wait maybe one-two weeks. Take the overdue notice with you to the main desk and tell them you’ve turned the book in weeks ago. The librarian will most likely say they’ll search for it. And then you say okay knowing it’ll be okay because the book will be found.

The Christian Science Monitor has a section called Chapter & Verse and one of the articles was a challenge for bibliophiles to engage in a bit of spring cleaning by whittling down their collection of books to 30 books. It got me to thinking what books if they were lost forever to the world would result in a void in our collective knowledge?

2 thoughts on “Chapter & Verse

  1. I like how you incorporated the bit about witling collections down to 30. As I prepare to move, today I delivered about 30 books to my local library for donation. “Parting is such sweet sorrow,” although in truth I have so many more, that sad to say…I could not let go of just yet. Yes, the world should not live without books. They inspire, entertain, and inform on matters often forgotten in other mediums. Great idea for a post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

